Northern Lea County Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Watches & Warnings

Heat Advisory
Issued: 2:34 AM MDT Jul. 19, 2018 – National Weather Service

... Heat advisory remains in effect from 7 am CDT /6 am MDT/ this
morning to 7 PM CDT /6 PM MDT/ Friday...

* temperature... 100-107 degrees with temperatures over 110
degrees along the Rio Grande.

* Impacts... an extended period of hot temperatures is expected
and will create a situation in which heat-related illnesses
are possible. Drink plenty of fluids, stay in an
air-conditioned room, stay out of the sun as much as possible,
and check on relatives and neighbors.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A heat advisory means that a period of hot temperatures is
expected. The combination of hot temperatures and high humidity
will combine to create a situation in which heat illnesses are
possible. Drink plenty of fluids, stay in an air-conditioned
room, stay out of the sun, and check up on relatives and
neighbors. Never leave children or pets in a closed vehicle as
temperatures inside can reach 140 degrees or more in a short
period of time. Ensure outdoor pets have plenty of water and
shade.

Take extra precautions, if you work or spend time outside. When
possible, reschedule strenuous activities to early morning or
evening. Know the signs and symptoms of heat exhaustion and heat
stroke. Wear light weight and loose fitting clothing when
possible and drink plenty of water.

To reduce risk during outdoor work, the occupational safety and
health administration recommends scheduling frequent rest breaks
in shaded or air conditioned environments. Anyone overcome by
heat should be moved to a cool and shaded location. Heat stroke
is an emergency, call 9 1 1.




Local Radar

Click to Enlarge

Nearby Radar Stations