Kit Carson County Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Watches & Warnings

Fire Weather Warning
Issued: 3:55 PM CDT Mar. 22, 2018 – National Weather Service

... Red flag warning in effect from noon MDT /1 PM CDT/ to 7 PM
MDT /8 PM CDT/ Friday for wind and low relative humidity for fire
weather zones 027... 041... 042... 253 and 254...

The National Weather Service in Goodland has issued a red flag
warning for wind and low relative humidity, which is in effect
from noon MDT /1 PM CDT/ to 7 PM MDT /8 PM CDT/ Friday. The Fire
Weather Watch is no longer in effect.

* Affected area... in Colorado... fire weather zone 253 Kit Carson
and fire weather zone 254 Cheyenne. In Kansas... fire weather
zone 027 Wallace... fire weather zone 041 Greeley and fire
weather zone 042 Wichita.

* Winds... southwest then west then northwest 20 to 30 mph with
gusts up to 40 mph.

* Relative humidity... as low as 13 percent.

* Temperatures... in the mid 70s to mid 80s.

* Lightning... lightning will be possible in far eastern Colorado
during the afternoon.

* Impacts... any fires that start will have extreme fire behavior
and spread rapidly. Outdoor burning is not advised.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A red flag warning means that critical fire weather conditions
are either occurring now... or are imminent. A combination of
strong winds... low relative humidity... and warm temperatures can
contribute to extreme fire behavior.

Local Radar

Click to Enlarge

Nearby Radar Stations